ABILITY and the ICD-10 transition

ICD-10 has been implemented, and we want you to know that ABILITY is ready to help you move forward. Our goal is to help you transition smoothly and avoid the disruption of claims.


ICD-10-CM/PCS (International Classification of Diseases, 10th Edition, Clinical Modification/Procedure Coding System) consists of 2 parts:

  1. ICD-10-CM for diagnosis coding
  2. ICD-10-PCS for inpatient procedure coding

ICD-10-CM is for use in all U.S. healthcare settings. Diagnosis coding under ICD-10-CM uses 3 to 7 alphanumeric characters instead of the 3 to 5 digits used with ICD-9-CM, but the format of the code sets is similar.

ICD-10-PCS is for use in U.S. inpatient hospital settings only. ICD-10-PCS uses 7 alphanumeric characters instead of the 3 or 4 numeric digits used under ICD-9-CM procedure coding. Coding under ICD-10-PCS is much more specific and substantially different from ICD-9-CM procedure coding.

Yes. ABILITY began transmitting ICD-10 codes on the implementation date of October 1, 2015.

The transition to ICD-10 codes occurred on October 1. Moving forward, if you submit claims with a date of service before October 1, you can use an ICD-9 code. If the date of service is after October 1, you must use an ICD-10 code.

Access the CMS ICD-10 code lookup here: Just enter a code or keyword to conduct your search for ICD-10 codes.

Or, use the ICD-10 Code Translator found on the AAPC site.

It’s important to be knowledgeable about ICD coding guidance to ensure appropriate billing and reimbursement. Training in coding rules and regulations related to proper code assignment is a good idea, especially for principal diagnosis. Check out the American Health Information Management Association (AHIMA) or the American Academy of Professional Coders (AAPC) for ICD-10 training resources.

Questions about ICD-10? Just ask ABILITY

We are here to help
you manage the transition